The Golden Foot Award

In a nutshell: It's like a football version of the Hollywood Walk of Fame, with the winner getting his footprint set into a promenade in Monte Carlo.
Awarded to: Footballers who are 29 or older, and who are still playing.
Voted by: Golden Foot's media partners select a list of 10 candidates, the public then votes for the winner through the goldenfoot.com website.
When: Annually, at the start of each September.
Worth a mention: The winner has a mould of his feet made (hence the award name) and set into a street in Monte Carlo, called "The Champions Promenade". A player can only win the award once as they don't want the same footprints appearing all over the place!


Year Player Country
2010 Francesco Totti Italy
2009 Ronaldinho Brazil
2008 Roberto Carlos Brazil
2007 Alessandro Del Piero Italy
2006 Ronaldo Brazil
2005 Andriy Shevchenko Ukraine
2004 Pavel Nedved Czech Republic
2003 Roberto Baggio Italy


Year Player Country
2010 Giancarlo Antognoni Italy
2010 Franz Beckenbauer Germany
2010 Dunga Brazil
2010 Hugo Sanchez Mexico
2010 Francisco Varallo Argentina
2009 Zbigniew Boniek Poland
2009 Oleg Blokhin Ukraine
2009 Rene Higuita Colombia
2009 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge Germany
2009 Nilton Santos Brazil
2008 Aldair Brazil
2008 Igor Belanov USSR
2008 Luis Suarez Spain
2008 Zinedine Zudane France
2007 Mario Kempes Argentina
2007 Gerd Muller Germany
2007 Romario Brazil
2007 Paolo Rossi Italy
2007 Hristo Stoitchkov Bulgaria
2006 Giacinto Facchetti Italy
2006 Alcides Ghiggia Uruguay
2006 Raymond Kopa France
2006 Ferenc Puskas Hungary
2006 Zico Brazil
2005 George Best Northern Ireland
2005 Francisco Gento Spain
2005 Luigi Riva Italy
2005 Roberto Rivellino Brazil
2005 George Weah Liberia
2004 Alfredo Di Stefano Argentina
2004 Michel Platini France
2004 Dino Zoff Italy
2003 Eusebio Portugal
2003 Just Fontaine France
2003 Diego Maradona Argentina
2003 Gianni Rivera Italy