MD Coach of the Year Award

In a nutshell: Our annual award to the best coach or manager.
Awarded to: It's open to any coach or manager in football.
Voted by: Us, midfielddynamo.com
When: At the end of each year.
Worth a mention: 1. We try not to pick the most obvious choice.

Year Winner Runner-up 3rd Place
2007 Gary Johnson
(Bristol City)
Jorvan Vieira
Alex McLeish

Details : 2007

It would be easy to pick Sir Alex Ferguson, Milan's Ancelotti or Capello for bringing the Spanish title back to the Bernabeu. But our choice of coach of the year is Gary Johnson of Bristol City. Johnson guided the Robins to promotion from League 1 to the Championship back in May 2007 in his 2nd season at the club. Since then he's achieved the unthinkable - maintaining City's great start to the to the campaign and cementing their place in the top 6 of one of Europe's most competitive leagues. His record of success wherever he has been is superb and we really like the fact that he is one of few British football professionals to go abroad, in his case, Latvia, and successfully broaden his horizons.

Our runners-up and third place spots go to coaches of national teams - Brazilian Jorvan Vieira for his incredible feat of winning the Asian Cup with Iraq and Alex McLeish for the fantastic job he did taking over the reins at Scotland and nearly getting to the European Championship finals. We'd also like to mention David Moyes at Everton and Juande Ramos at Sevilla.