The Italian Foreign Footballer of the Year Award

In a nutshell: It's the top honour for foreign players in the Italian game.
Awarded to: The best non-Italian player from the Italian leagues.
Voted by: Members of the Italian Association of Footballers (Associazione Italiana Calciatori).
When: At the end of each football season.
Worth a mention: 1. This award is given at the 'Oscar del Calcio' event, along with a host of others such as Top Italian Footballer.
2. Strangely, despite their best efforts with Sampdoria, neither Lee Sharpe or Danny Dichio managed to come home with this particular gong.

Year Player Team Country
2009 Zlatan Ibrahimovic Inter Milan Sweden
2008 Zlatan Ibrahimovic Inter Milan Sweden
2007 Kaka A.C. Milan Brazil
2006 (shared) Kaka A.C. Milan Brazil
David Suazo Cagliari Honduras
2005 Zlatan Ibrahimovic Juventus Sweden
2004 Kaka A.C. Milan Brazil
2003 Pavel Nedved Juventus Czech Republic
2002 David Trezeguet Juventus France
2001 Zinedine Zidane Juventus France
2000 Andriy Shevchenko A.C. Milan Ukraine
1999 Gabriel Batistuta Fiorentina Argentina
1998 Ronaldo Inter Milan Brazil
1997 Zinedine Zidane Juventus France