Onze Mondial European Footballer of the Year Award (Onze d'Or)

In a nutshell: A European Footballer of the Year award from the French magazine Onze Mondial.
Awarded to: The top 3 footballers playing in any of the European leagues.
Voted by: Readers of the French football magazine Onze Mondial.
When: Annually, at the end of each year.
Worth a mention: The readers vote for their team of the season (the Onze de Onze ) and from this team they choose the top three players - gold, silver and bronze awards (Onze d'Or, Onze d'Argent and Onze de Bronze).

Year Onze d'Or Onze d'Argent Onze de Bronze
2009 Lionel Messi (Argentina) Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) Andres Iniesta (Spain)
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) Lionel Messi (Argentina) Franck Ribery (France)
2007 Kaka (Brazil) Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)
2006 Thierry Henry (France) Ronaldinho (Brazil) Franck Ribery (France)
2005 Ronaldinho (Brasil) Steven Gerrard (England) Thierry Henry (France)
2004 Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast) Thierry Henry (France) Ronaldinho (Brazil)
2003 Thierry Henry (France) Zinedine Zidane (France) David Beckham (England)
2002 Ronaldo (Brazil) Zinedine Zidane (France) Ronaldinho (Brazil)
2001 Zinedine Zidane (France) Michael Owen (England) Robert Pires (France)
2000 Zinedine Zidane (France) Luis Figo (Portugal) Thierry Henry (France)
1999 Rivaldo (Brazil) David Beckham (England) Zinedine Zidane (France)
1998 Zinedine Zidane (France Fabien Barthez (France) Emmanuel Petit (France)
1997 Ronaldo (Brazil) Zinedine Zidane (France) Marco Simone (Italy)
1996 Eric Cantona (France) George Weah (Liberia) Matthias Sammer (Germany)
1995 George Weah (Liberia) Roberto Baggio (Italy) Paolo Maldini (Italy)
1994 Romario (Brazil) Hristo Stoitchkov (Bulgaria) Roberto Baggio (Italy)
1993 Roberto Baggio (Italy) Alen Boksic (Croatia) Romario (Brazil)
1992 Hristo Stoitchkov (Bulgaria) Marco van Basten (Holland) Jean-Pierre Papin (France)
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin (France) Chris Waddle (England) Lothar Matthaus (Germany)
1990 Lothar Matthaus (Germany) Salvatore Schillaci (Italy) Jean-Pierre Papin (France)
1989 Marco van Basten (Holland) Ruud Gullit (Holland) Jean-Pierre Papin (France)
1988 Marco van Basten (Holland) Ruud Gullit (Holland) Diego Maradona (Argentina)
1987 Diego Maradona (Argentina) Marco van Basten (Holland) Jean Tigana (France)
1986 Diego Maradona (Argentina) Manuel Amoros (France) Gary Lineker (England)
1985 Michel Platini (France) Preben Elkjaer (Denmark) Diego Maradona (Argentine)
1984 Michel Platini (France) Jean Tigana (France) Preben Elkjaer (Denmark)
1983 Michel Platini (France) Falcao (Brazil) K.H. Rummenigge (Germany)
1982 Paolo Rossi (Italy) Alain Giresse (France) Falcao (Brazil)
1981 K.H. Rummenigge (Germany) Paul Breitner (Germany) Jan Ceulemans (Belgium)
1980 K.H. Rummenigge (Germany) Kevin Keegan (England) Horst Hrubesch (Germany)
1979 Kevin Keegan (England) Trevor Francis (England) Robert Rensenbrink (Holland)
1978 Mario Kempes (Argentina) Hans Krankl (Austria) Robbie Rensenbrink (Holland)
1977 Kevin Keegan (England) Michel Platini (France) Allan Simonsen (Denmark)
1976 Robbie Rensenbrink (Holland) Kevin Keegan (England) Dominique Rocheteau (France)