The English PFA Young Player of the Year Award

PFA In a nutshell: England's top honour for young players.
Awarded to: The best under 23 year old playing in any of the English leagues. Open to all nationalities.
Voted by: Members of the players union (the Professional Footballers Association).
When: At the end of each football season.
Worth a mention: Those fellow pro's obviously know talent when they see it because there aren't too many duff-choices in the list, with most of the youngsters going on to make it at the highest-level.

Year Player Team Country
2011 Jack Wilshere Arsenal England
2010 James Milner Aston Villa England
2009 Ashley Young Aston Villa England
2008 Cesc Fabregas Arsenal Spain
2007 Cristiano Ronaldo Man Utd Portugal
2006 Wayne Rooney Man Utd England
2005 Wayne Rooney Man Utd England
2004 Scott Parker Chelsea England
2003 Jermaine Jenas Newcastle Utd England
2002 Craig Bellamy Newcastle Utd Wales
2001 Steven Gerrard Liverpool England
2000 Harry Kewell Leeds Utd Australia
1999 Nicolas Anelka Arsenal France
1998 Michael Owen Liverpool England
1997 David Beckham Man Utd England
1996 Robbie Fowler Liverpool England
1995 Robbie Fowler Liverpool England
1994 Andy Cole Newcastle Utd England
1993 Ryan Giggs Man Utd Wales
1992 Ryan Giggs Man Utd Wales
1991 Lee Sharpe Man Utd England
1990 Matthew Le Tissier Southampton England
1989 Paul Merson Arsenal England
1988 Paul Gascoigne Newcastle Utd England
1987 Tony Adams Arsenal England
1986 Tony Cottee West Ham Utd England
1985 Mark Hughes Man Utd Wales
1984 Paul Walsh Luton Town England
1983 Ian Rush Liverpool Wales
1982 Steve Moran Southampton England
1981 Gary Shaw Aston Villa England
1980 Glenn Hoddle Spurs England
1979 Cyrille Regis West Brom England
1978 Tony Woodcock Notts Forest England
1977 Andy Gray Aston Villa Scotland
1976 Petter Barnes Man City England
1975 Mervyn Day West Ham Utd England
1974 Kevin Beattie Ipswich Town England

The Number of times a club's player has won the award...

Club Number of Awards
Man Utd 8
Liverpool 5
Arsenal 4
Newcastle Utd 4
Aston Villa 2
Southampton 2
West Ham Utd 2
Chelsea 1
Ipswich Town 1
Leeds Utd 1
Luton Town 1
Man City 1
Notts Forest 1
Spurs 1
West Brom 1