The English PFA Players' Player of the Year Award

In a nutshell:

The English leagues' player of the year, as voted for by the players.

Awarded to:

The best player in any of the English leagues. Open to all nationalities.

Voted by:

Members of the players union (the Professional Footballers Association).


At the end of each football season.

Worth a mention:

Cristiano Ronaldo (2007) and Andy Gray (1977) are the only players to win the PFA Players' Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year in the same year.

The English PFA Players' Player of the Year Award - Individual Winners

Year Player Team Country
2017 N'Golo Kanté Chelsea France
2016 Riyad Mahrez Leicester City Algeria
2015 Eden Hazard Chelsea Belgium
2014 Luis Suarez Liverpool Uruguay
2013 Gareth Bale Spurs Wales
2012 Robin van Persie Arsenal Netherlands
2011 Gareth Bale Spurs Wales
2010 Wayne Rooney Man Utd England
2009 Ryan Giggs Man Utd Wales
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Man Utd Portugal
2007 Cristiano Ronaldo Man Utd Portugal
2006 Steven Gerrard Liverpool England
2005 John Terry Chelsea England
2004 Thierry Henry Arsenal France
2003 Thierry Henry Arsenal France
2002 Ruud van Nistelrooy Man Utd Netherlands
2001 Teddy Sheringham Man Utd England
2000 Roy Keane Man Utd Republic of Ireland
1999 David Ginola Spurs France
1998 Dennis Bergkamp Arsenal Netherlands
1997 Alan Shearer Newcastle Utd England
1996 Les Ferdinand Newcastle Utd England
1995 Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers England
1994 Eric Cantona Man Utd France
1993 Paul McGrath Aston Villa Republic of Ireland
1992 Gary Pallister Man Utd England
1991 Mark Hughes Man Utd Wales
1990 David Platt Aston Villa England
1989 Mark Hughes Man Utd Wales
1988 John Barnes Liverpool England
1987 Clive Allen Spurs England
1986 Gary Lineker Everton England
1985 Peter Reid Everton England
1984 Ian Rush Liverpool Wales
1983 Kenny Dalglish Liverpool Scotland
1982 Kevin Keegan Southampton England
1981 John Wark Ipswich Town Scotland
1980 Terry McDermott Liverpool England
1979 Liam Brady Arsenal Republic of Ireland
1978 Peter Shilton Notts Forest England
1977 Andy Gray Aston Villa Scotland
1976 Pat Jennings Spurs Northern Ireland
1975 Colin Todd Derby County England
1974 Norman Hunter Leeds Utd England

The Number of times a club's player has one the award...

Club Number of Awards
Man Utd 11
Liverpool 6
Arsenal 5
Spurs 5
Aston Villa 3
Chelsea 3
Everton 2
Newcastle Utd 2
Blackburn 1
Derby 1
Ipswich Town 1
Leeds 1
Leicester City 1
Notts Forest 1
Southampton 1