The English Football Writers Association Footballer of the Year Award

In a nutshell:

Along with the Players Player of the Year Award, it's the top honour in the English game.

Awarded to:

The best player from the English football leagues, regardless of nationality.

Voted by:

Members of the Football Writers Association (FWA), which is basically a group of media and agency football journalists.


At the end of each football season.

Worth a mention:

All the big names that you'd expect to see are there, but two right-backs deserve a special nod - Stevie Nicol (1989) and Tony Book (1969) both winning it when up against some much heralded stars of the time.

The English Football Writers' Association Player of the Year Award - Winners

Year Player Team Country
2017 N'Golo Kanté Chelsea France
2016 Jamie Vardy Leicester City England
2015 Eden Hazard Chelsea Belgium
2014 Luis Suarez Liverpool Uruguay
2013 Gareth Bale Spurs Wales
2012 Robin van Persie Arsenal Netherlands
2011 Scott Parker West Ham England
2010 Wayne Rooney Man Utd England
2009 Steven Gerrard Liverpool England
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Man Utd Portugal
2007 Cristiano Ronaldo Man Utd Portugal
2006 Thierry Henry Arsenal France
2005 Frank Lampard Chelsea England
2004 Thierry Henry Arsenal France
2003 Thierry Henry Arsenal France
2002 Robert Pires Arsenal France
2001 Teddy Sheringham Man Utd England
2000 Roy Keane Man Utd Rep. Ireland
1999 David Ginola Spurs France
1998 Dennis Bergkamp Arsenal Holland
1997 Gianfranco Zola Chelsea Italy
1996 Eric Cantona Man Utd France
1995 Jurgen Klinsmann Spurs Germany
1994 Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers England
1993 Chris Waddle Sheffield Wednesday England
1992 Gary Lineker Spurs England
1991 Gordon Strachan Leeds Utd Scotland
1990 John Barnes Liverpool England
1989 Steve Nicol Liverpool Scotland
1988 John Barnes Liverpool England
1987 Clive Allen Spurs England
1986 Gary Lineker Everton England
1985 Ian Rush Liverpool Wales
1984 Neville Southall Everton Wales
1983 Kenny Dalglish Liverpool Scotland
1982 Steve Perryman Spurs England
1981 Frans Thijssen Ipswich Town Holland
1980 Terry McDermott Liverpool England
1979 Kenny Dalglish Liverpool Scotland
1978 Kenny Burns Notts Forest Scotland
1977 Emlyn Hughes Liverpool England
1976 Kevin Keegan Liverpool England
1975 Alan Mullery Fulham England
1974 Ian Callaghan Liverpool England
1973 Pat Jennings Spurs N.Ireland
1972 Gordon Banks Stoke City England
1971 Frank McLintock Arsenal Scotland
1970 Billy Bremner Leeds Utd Scotland
1969 Dave Mackay Derby County Scotland
1969 Tony Book Man City England
1968 George Best Man Utd N.Ireland
1967 Jack Charlton Leeds Utd England
1966 Bobby Charlton Man Utd England
1965 Bobby Collins Leeds Utd Scotland
1964 Bobby Moore West Ham Utd England
1963 Stanley Matthews Stoke City England
1962 Jimmy Adamson Burnley England
1961 Danny Blanchflower Spurs N.Ireland
1960 Bill Slater Wolves England
1959 Syd Owen Luton Town England
1958 Danny Blanchflower Spurs N.Ireland
1957 Tom Finney Preston NE England
1956 Bert Trautmann Man City West Germany
1955 Don Revie Man City England
1954 Tom Finney Preston NE England
1953 Nat Lofthouse Bolton Wanderers England
1952 Billy Wright Wolves England
1951 Harry Johnston Blackpool England
1950 Joe Mercer Arsenal England
1949 Johnny Carey Man Utd Rep. Ireland
1948 Stanley Matthews Blackpool England