Belgian Golden Shoe Award

Awarded since 1954 to the footballer of the year in the Belgian league. The award is arranged by the Het Laatste Nieuws newspaper, and is voted for by members of the press and some other Belgian footballing dignitaries.

As it's awarded at the end of the year, the votes are based on the end of the previous season (January to May) and the start of the current season (August to December).

Anyone who thinks Belgian football is about exciting as ...er, Belgium, should have a look at the list below, particularly the 70's and 80's. It's a who's who of cult football legends... Rensenbrink, Cools, Pfaff, Ceulemans, Vandenbergh, Gerets, Vercauteren, Scifo, Preud'homme, Van Der Elst, Degryse, Albert and Zetterberg. What a list. Oh yes, and Paul Okon.

List of Belgium Golden Shoe Winners - 1954 to 2016

Year Player Team Country
2016 José Izquierdo Club Brugge Colombia
2015 Sven Kums Gent Belgium
2014 Dennis Praet Anderlecht Belgium
2013 Thorgan Hazard Zulte Waregem Belgium
2012 Dieumerci Mbokani Anderlecht DR Congo
2011 Matías Suárez Anderlecht Argentina
2010 Mbark Boussoufa Anderlecht Morocco
2009 Milan Jovanovic Standard Liège Serbia
2008 Axel Witsel Standard Liège Belgium
2007 Steven Defour Standard Liège Belgium
2006 Mbark Boussoufa KAA Gent and Anderlecht Morocco
2005 Sergio Conceicao Standard Portugal
2004 Vincent Kompany Anderlecht Belgium
2003 Aruna Dindane Anderlecht Ivory Coast
2002 Timmy "the Tiger" Simons Club Brugge Belgium
2001 Wesley Sonck Genk Belgium
2000 Jan Koller Anderlecht Czech Republic
1999 Lorenzo Staelens Anderlecht Belgium
1998 Branko Strupar Genk Croatia
1997 Per Zetterberg Anderlecht Sweden
1996 Franky Van Der Elst Club Brugge Belgium
1995 Paul Okon Club Brugge Australia
1994 Gilles De Bilde Aalst Belgium
1993 Per Zetterberg Anderlecht Sweden
1992 Philippe Albert Mechelen and Anderlecht Belgium
1991 Marc Degryse Anderlecht Belgium
1990 Franky Van Der Elst Club Brugge Belgium
1989 Michel Preud'homme Mechelen Belgium
1988 Leo Clijsters Mechelen Belgium
1987 Michel Preud'homme Mechelen Belgium
1986 Jan Ceulemans Club Brugge Belgium
1985 Jan Ceulemans Club Brugge Belgium
1984 Vincenzo "Enzo" Scifo Anderlecht Belgium
1983 Franky Vercauteren Anderlecht Belgium
1982 Eric Gerets Standard Belgium
1981 Erwin Vandenbergh Lierse Belgium
1980 Jan Ceulemans Club Brugge Belgium
1979 Jean Janssens Beveren Belgium
1978 Jean-Marie Pfaff Beveren Belgium
1977 Julien Cools Club Brugge Belgium
1976 Rob Rensenbrink Anderlecht Holland
1975 Johan Boskamp RWDM Holland
1974 Paul Van Himst Anderlecht Belgium
1973 Maurice Martens Racing White Belgium
1972 Christian Piot Standard Belgium
1971 Erwin Van Den Daele Club Brugge Belgium
1970 Wilfried Van Moer Standard Belgium
1969 Wilfried Van Moer Standard Belgium
1968 Odilon Polleunis Sint-Truiden Belgium
1967 Fernand Boone Club Brugge Belgium
1966 Wilfried Van Moer Antwerp Belgium
1965 Paul Van Himst Anderlecht Belgium
1964 Wilfried Puis Anderlecht Belgium
1963 Jean Nicolay Standard Belgium
1962 Armand Jurion Anderlecht Belgium
1961 Paul Van Himst Anderlecht Belgium
1960 Paul Van Himst Anderlecht Belgium
1959 Lucien Olieslagers Lierse Belgium
1958 Roland Storme Gent Belgium
1957 Armand Jurion Anderlecht Belgium
1956 Victor Mees Antwerp Belgium
1955 Alfons Van Brandt Lierse Belgium
1954 Henri Coppens Beerschot Belgium