Mitropa Cup

The Miropa Cup was a competition created for the central European countries (its name is taken from Mittel Europa, meaning Central Europe). It was the brainchild of Austrian manager Hugo Meisl.

It was a big competition in its day, and is recognised as one of the main pre-cursors to the European Cup. The league winners of Italy, Austria, Switzerland, Czechoslovakia, Romania, Yugoslavia and Hungary were involved in it, with the occasional invitations to some of the top English and Scottish teams.

It started in 1929 but was suspended between 1939 and 1954 because of the war. It was last competed for in 1992, so at least fans of Borac Banja Luka can brag each year to their mates that they're the current holders of the Mitropa.

List of Mitropa Cup Winners

Year Winner Country
1992 Borac Banja Luka Yugoslavia
1991 Torino Italy
1990 Bari Italy
1989 Banik Ostrava Czechoslovakia
1988 Pisa Italy
1987 Ascoli Italy
1986 Pisa Italy
1985 Iskra Yugoslavia
1984 Eisenstadt Austria
1983 Vasas Hungary
1982 AC Milan Italy
1981 Tatran Presov Czechoslovakia
1980 Udinese Italy
1979 No Competition
1978 Partisan Belgrade Yugoslavia
1977 Vojvodina Novisad Yugoslavia
1976 Admira Wacker Austria
1975 Admira Wacker Austria
1974 Tatabanya Hungary
1973 Tatabanya Hungary
1972 Celik Zenica Yugoslavia
1971 Celik Zenica Yugoslavia
1970 Vasas Hungary
1969 Inter Bratislava Czechoslovakia
1968 Red Star Belgrade Yugoslavia
1967 Spartak Trnava Czechoslovakia
1966 Fiorentina Italy
1965 Vasas Hungary
1964 Sparta Prague Czechoslovakia
1963 MTK Budapest Hungary
1962 Vasas Hungary
1961 Bologna Italy
1960 No Competition
1959 Honved Hungary
1958 No Competition
1957 Vasas Hungary
1956 Vasas Hungary
1955 Voros Lobogo Hungary
1939 Ujpest Hungary
1938 Slavia Prague Czechoslovakia
1937 Ferencvaros Hungary
1936 Austria Vienna Austria
1935 Sparta Prague Czechoslovakia
1934 Bologna Italy
1933 Austria Vienna Austria
1932 Bologna Italy
1931 1st FC Vienna Austria
1930 Rapid Vienna Austria
1929 Ujpest Hungary
1928 Ferencvaros Hungary
1927 Sparta Prague Czechoslovakia