FIFA Club World Cup


Replacing the old Intercontinental Cup (also known as the Toyota Cup and Worl Club Championship), FIFA's Club World Cup was re-branded so that it could include the champions of Asia, Africa, Oceania and North America alongside the champions of Europe and South America who had previously battled it out alone for the title.

It officially took over from the previous incarnation in 2005 although FIFA had previously dabbled with the idea back in 2000 (remember Man Utd infamously withdrawing from the FA Cup to play in it over in Brazil ?). FIFA decided to keep the previous cup's location and have played the tournament in Yokohama, Japan, but from 2009 a bidding process will take place to host the competition.

List of Winners

Year Winner Runner-up Score Pens Golden Ball Note
2011 Barcelona (SPA) Santos (BRA) 4 - 0 Messi (Barcelona)
2010 Inter Milan (ITA) TP Mazembe (CONGO) 3 - 0 Eto'o (Inter Milan) (2)
2009 Barcelona (SPA) Estudiantes (ARG) 2 - 1 (aet) Messi (Barcelona)
2008 Manchester Utd (ENG) LDU Quito (ECU) 1 - 0 Rooney (Man Utd)
2007 AC Milan (ITA) Boca Juniors (ARG) 4 - 2 Kaka (AC Milan)
2006 Internacional (BRA) Barcelona (SPA) 1 - 0 Deco (Barcelona)
2005 Sao Paulo FC (BRA) Liverpool (ENG) 1 - 0 Rogerio Ceni (Sao Paulo)
2000 Corinthians (BRA) Vasco da Gama (BRA) 0 - 0 (aet) 4-3 Edilson (Corinthians) (1)


  • (1) FIFA invited 8 teams, with Corinthians (hosts) and Real Madrid (Intercontinental Cup holders) joining the winners of each continental federation.
  • (2) Congolese team TP Mazembe became the first non-European or South American team to reach the final in 2010 when they defeated Brazil's Internacional 2:0 having already surprised the footballing world by defeating Mexico's C.F. Pachuca in the quarter finals. Their run came to end when they lost 3:0 to Inter Milan in the final.

Number of Titles

Titles Club Years
2 Barcelona 2009 2011
1 Corinthians 2000
1 Internacional 2006
1 AC Milan 2007
1 Inter Milan 2010
1 Sao Paulo FC 2005
1 Manchester United 2008

Most Successful Nations

Total Number of Titles Nation
3 Brazil
2 Italy
2 Spain
1 England

Most Successful Continent

Total Number of Titles Continent (Federation)
5 Europe (UEFA)
3 South America (CONMEBOL)