Despite only being active for 8 years, the Latin Cup was probably the top inter-country club competition of the post war period. As its name suggests, the competition was only open to the league winners of the Latin European countries of Italy, Spain, Portugal and France.

It was first held in 1949 and ran until 1957. The quality of the clubs involved, mixed in with the novel country v country rivalry and surprisingly large attendances, made it a good blue-print for the subsequent European Cup.

List of Winners of the Latin Cup

Year Winner Country
1957 Real Madrid Spain
1956 AC Milan Italy
1955 Real Madrid Spain
1953 Stade de Reims France
1952 Barcelona Spain
1951 AC Milan Italy
1950 Benfica Portugal
1949 Barcelona Spain