Golden Shoe Award (aka Golden Boot)

This is FIFA's official award for the top goal scorer of each tournament.

Sometimes referred to as the Golden Boot, it's been running since the 1930 World Cup and now features the Silver and Bronze Shoe award for 2nd and 3rd. If players have an equal number of goals then assists and minutes on the pitch are taken into account.

Year Award Player Team
2006 Golden Shoe Miroslav Klose Germany 5
Silver Shoe Hernan Crespo Argentina 3
Bronze Shoe Ronaldo Brazil 3
2002 Golden Shoe Ronaldo Brazil 8
1998 Golden Shoe Davor Suker Croatia 6
1994 Golden Shoe Hristo Stoichkov Bulgaria 6
1994 Golden Shoe Oleg Salenko Russia 6
1990 Golden Shoe Salvatore Schillaci Italy 6
1986 Golden Shoe Gary Lineker England 6
1982 Golden Shoe Paulo Rossi Italy 6
1978 Golden Shoe Mario Kempes Argentina 6
1974 Golden Shoe Grzegorz Lato Poland 7
1970 Golden Shoe Gerd Muller West Germany 10
1966 Golden Shoe Eusebio Portugal 9
1962 Golden Shoe Garrincha Brazil 4
1962 Golden Shoe Vava Brazil 4
1962 Golden Shoe Leonel Sanchez Chile 4
1962 Golden Shoe Drazen Jerkovic Yugoslavia 4
1962 Golden Shoe Valentin Ivanov USSR 4
1962 Golden Shoe Florian Albert Hungary 4
1958 Golden Shoe Just Fontaine France 13
1954 Golden Shoe Sandor Kocsis Hungary 11
1950 Golden Shoe Ademir Brazil 9
1938 Golden Shoe Leonidas Brazil 7
1934 Golden Shoe Oldrich Nejedly Czechoslovakia 4
1934 Golden Shoe Angelo Schiavo Italy 4
1934 Golden Shoe Edmund Conen Germany 4
1930 Golden Shoe Guillermo Stabile Argentina 8

For the 1934 World Cup FIFA have 3 joint top scorers on four goals. However, other sources claim that Nejedly of Czechoslovakia was the outright top scorer, with five goals.