Golden Ball Award

This is FIFA's award for the the outstanding player at each World Cup.

The silver and bronze ball are awarded to the 2nd and 3rd best players.

Year Award Player team
2010 Golden Ball Diego Forlan Uruguay
Silver Ball Wesley Sneijder Holland
Bronze Ball David Villa Spain
2006 Golden Ball Zinedine Zidane France
Silver Ball Fabbio Cannavaro Italy
Bronze Ball Andrea Pirlo Italy
2002 Golden Ball Oliver Kahn Germany
Silver Ball Ronaldo Brazil
Bronze Ball Hong Myung-Bo South Korea
1998 Golden Ball Ronaldo Brazil
Silver Ball Davor Suker Croatia
Bronze Ball Lilian Thuram France
1994 Golden Ball Romario Brazil
Silver Ball Roberto Baggio Italy
Bronze Ball Hristo Stoichkov Bulgaria
1990 Golden Ball Salvatore Schillaci Italy
Silver Ball Lothar Matthaus West Germany
Bronze Ball Diego Maradona Argentina
1986 Golden Ball Diego Maradona Argentina
Silver Ball Harald Schumacher West Germany
Bronze Ball Preben Elkjaer Denmark
1982 Golden Ball Paulo Rossi Italy
Silver Ball Falcao Brazil
Bronze Ball Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany