Who Will Be the PFA Player of the Year This Season?

The Premier League is back and promising to be another fascinating season of top-flight football in England. Defending champions Manchester City are the team to beat, but Chelsea and Manchester United have strengthened in the summer.

Here's a look at who could be the PFA Player of the Season by the end of the campaign.

Kevin De Bruyne

Our first contender is Belgium international Kevin De Bruyne, who's already acclaimed as only the second player in history to win the PFA Player of the Year award two years running in the Premier League. Cristiano Ronaldo, of all players, was the first to do so in 2007 and 2008.

Manchester City's midfielder De Bruyne is currently the favourite for the PFA accolade with odds of 6/1, though he's followed hotly by the likes of Jack Grealish with odds of 41/5, Bruno Fernandes with odds of 26/5 and finally, Harry Kane with odds of 34/5. In addition, as it stands, Manchester City are the odds-on favourites in the Premier League betting markets  and their key to the title very well could be De Bruyne.

De Bruyne's performances over the last couple of seasons have been magnificent and, if he stays fit, it's highly like that he could make history this year by becoming the first player to win this award three times. That would be some mighty achievement to carry forward.

Jack Grealish

Second on the list is Grealish, who's the latest star to join Pep Guardiola’s squad at Manchester City after the champions broke the British transfer record  to capture the Aston Villa player. He's expected to be an excellent addition to the club.

In terms of notoriety, Grealish was the most fouled player in the Premier League last season, which says a lot about how difficult he is to defend. Now he's playing alongside better players, it could help him to elevate his game.

The England international was in the Player of the Year conversation in the 2020/21 campaign. Maybe he'll get his hands on this trophy at the end of the season following this high-profile, blockbuster move.

Harry Kane

Next on the list is Kane. Regardless of which club he lines up for at the end of the summer transfer window, he's sure to have another great year. Let's not forget that, interestingly, the England captain has previously won the Golden Boot in the Premier League on three occasions, but he has yet to win the Player of the Year prize.

Overall, Kane has scored 166 Premier League goals now and is sure to have Alan Shearer’s record (260 goals) in the league in his sights. The 28-year-old will be keen to let his football do the talking again after what has been an unsettled summer for him.

Jadon Sancho

Our final contender is Sancho: it's going to be great to see him in the Premier League this season. He's been one of the stand-out players in the Bundesliga for Dortmund ever since he first moved there in 2017.

Sancho should deliver his new club Manchester United many goals, assists, and trickery on the wing. This is a long time coming as he had been linked with a move to Old Trafford for several transfer windows before they finally claimed their man for a fee of £73 million. It would be a dream debut season in the Premier League for Sancho if he were able to capture the prestigious award. 

With so much talent now in the Premier League, expect to see a number of players on the hunt for the Player of the Year crown.