Club Profile : Cerro Porteno

class=midsection Name: Club Cerro Porteno Club website: www.clubcerro.com Year formed: 1912 Nickname: El Ciclon, Azulgrana Stadium name: Estadio General Pablo Rojas Stadium nicknames: "la Olla" (the Boiler) Capacity: 25,000

Club Detail

Named after the "Battle of Cerro Porteno", between the armies of Paraguay and Argentina (the Portenos), on Mbae Hill (Cerro Mbae), Cerro Porteno are the people's club of Paraguay's capital city Asuncion. Whereas arch-rivals Olimpia take their fan-base from the country's upper-classes, Cerro Porteno take theirs from the lower and working classes.

Whilst Olympia may claim to being the most successful Paraguayan club, Cerro are the most popular. And the most passionate. Nicknamed 'El Ciclon' (the Cyclone !), their ground is known as 'La Olla', meaning 'the Boiler', due to its intense match-day atmosphere.

Formed in 1912, they dominate the national championship with Olympia, although Club Libertad have shown signs of breaking the monopoly. Despite Olympia having the edge in the number of titles won, when it comes to the "Super Clasico" (the Asuncion derby), honours are pretty much even.

Despite their domestic strength, El Ciclon have struggled internationally. Success in the Copa Libertadores still eludes them, and despite reaching the semi-final numerous times their main claim to Libertadores fame is being the club who has played the most number of games without having won it. Someone once described them as the Colin Montgomerie of the Copa Libertadores. Allegedly.

The club have been through several lean periods, both on and off the pitch. They went ten years from the late 70's into the 80's without winning the title, even turning to Hungarian legend Ferenc Puskas in 1986 in a bid to reverse their fortune. They eventually won the trophy back in 1987 and it's since moved between themselves, Olympia and Libertad.

Roll of Honour

Honour Number Years
Paraguay Division 1 Winners 27 1913, 1915, 1918, 1919, 1935, 1939, 1940, 1941, 1944, 1954, 1961, 1963, 1966, 1970, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1977, 1987, 1990, 1992, 1994, 1996, 2001, 2004, 2005
Copa Libertadores Semi-finalists 5 1973, 1978, 1993, 1998, 1999
The Players 1950's Re, Cayetano 1980's Cabanas, Roberto Eder 1990's Arce, Francisco Gamarra, Carlos 2000's Dos Santos, Julio

Video Clips...

Fantastic Walter Fretes goal against Olimpia in Paraguay's 'Superclasico' Youtube Clip